Updated at 10 May 2022
Archiving posts on Instagram is one of the best ways to remove them. The posts can be deleted, but they will not be permanently deleted. Archiving your posts won't permanently delete them, but it will remove them from your feed. But, of course, you can always access the archived section to restore the posts, which will be displayed on your profile again. You may have archived some of your posts.
Instagram offers a feature that lets you see all of your archived posts. Although viewing an archived post can be easy, it can be difficult for some users to find the archived section.
This article tells you how to find your archived posts.
Step 1: Open Instagram. If you can't login, here's a guide.
Step 2: Tap the profile icon at the bottom-right corner.
Step 3: Tap on the three horizontal lines in the upper-right corner.
Step 4: From the bottom, a menu will appear. Scroll down to the Settings tab and select Archive.
Step 5: The Stories Archive defaults to be the first one. Tap the dropdown at the top and select Archive to view archived posts.
All your archived posts will now be visible. These posts can be restored to your profile or deleted.
Only the author can view archival posts. Only you can see the archived posts. It is impossible to view archived posts from others. Your archived posts cannot be seen by anyone else.
Read also about how to fix Instagram story not uploading.
It is straightforward if you wish to take a post from hibernation into your profile. However, to show a post on your profile again, you must access your Instagram archive.
You can choose to delete an archived post rather than make it public. Select "Delete" instead of "Show on Profile." The post will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Sometimes, that's a good thing.
The Instagram archive functionality allows you to manage what others see, whether for personal use or business. While we are gradually adjusting to the temporal nature of online life, some things are worth keeping for the longer term. So if you don't keep those memories close, at least you can preserve them on Instagram.
This is an option for media-savvy social businesses to use posts and media multiple times or for seasonal offers that repeat each year or frequently. For example, you don't need to create a Christmas offering each year. Instead, you can archive it and modify it before making it public. In addition, you can store images or posts that you may want to reuse, keep them for reference, or adjust them for personal use.
You may like our guide on how to add multiple photos to Instagram story.
There are many reasons why Instagram's archive option is not accessible. You should find the Archive in the settings menu. There's a gear icon that you can tap in the upper-right corner. After this, you will see a list of options with an "archive" button.
Instagram doesn't show Archived posts. This is because the posts are either not "hidden" or are not yet live.
But you can see the sharing post stats, learn how to see who shared your Instagram post.
A third-party app can be used to hide posts on Instagram. There are currently no legitimate ways to hide an Instagram account. However, third-party app users can download this application to hide specific posts.
Instagram photos are accessible for 24 hours before being archived. In addition, Instagram allows users to view photos chronologically. This means that the most recent uploads will appear at the top. These photos will have a timestamp of midnight.
This feature was introduced in 2017. It allows users to delete photos and videos from their profile, but not ultimately. Likewise, Instagram Archive allows you to see archived pictures but not the rest of the world.
Instagram Archive stores Stories and Posts. While you must archive them manually, you can adjust your settings to have your Stories automatically added to Instagram Archive within 24 hours.
Stories that you share on Instagram will automatically be saved to your Stories Archive. You can disable Stories Archive from Settings at any time.
To turn Stories Archive on/off:
You may also post someone's story on your story.
Not everyone can view the stories in your Archive once they have disappeared from your Story. For example, you can't save a Story if you delete a photo/video from it before it disappears.