Updated at 03 Jun 2022
Blocking people using TikTok can be one of the easiest ways to control what content appears on your For You Page. But how do you know if someone has blocked you?
TikTok is growing in popularity every day. Many new users regularly join to browse, engage and make content. However, just as with any social media app, you will undoubtedly have occasions when you feel the need to block another account. This could be because they aren't providing quality content, or you just don't want it to keep popping up in your feed.
Learn how to find someone on TikTok.
Three methods can be used to determine if someone has blocked your account on TikTok. These are the steps. You can first check your following list to see if the person who blocked you has been found. Open the TikTok app, find your profile icon, tap the Following button, and type the username in the search bar. If you don't see any results in the search, probably you're blocked. You can still check for tags and other mentions of your name in users' posts. You may have been blocked if you can't find them or cannot find the post.
You can also search directly for the user using the discover page. Open TikTok > tap Discovery > enter your username, and tap Search. There's a good chance your search doesn't bring up any results. Now, let's look at how you can block someone using TikTok.
Related article: how to screenshot on Snapchat without them knowing.
Sometimes, you may need to block someone on the video-sharing platform. These are the steps to follow.
These steps can also be used to unblock someone using TikTok.
You may be interested to know how to add Instagram to TikTok.
It isn't much you can do to unblock TikTok. This may seem bad if you believe you were blocked accidentally. Still, it is also logical and helpful when users are blocked for harassing others or being unfriendly to them. The ability to block other people is an essential aspect of TikTok's goal to make the app enjoyable. However, it can be frustrating if someone uses it against your account.
If you have been blocked by someone you are familiar with in real life, you can try to contact them via another platform -- provided they don't block you there. However, you may have to learn to live with a TikTok account without them.
There are four types of TikTok bans. Three are temporary, and one is permanent. You will receive a notification if you was banned. You will not send a shadowban notification to you because it is "secret".
You will need to wait for TikTok to allow you to use it again after your account is banned. The offense determines the time limit.