How to make friendships private on Snapchat

Updated at 10 Jul 2022

Snapchat closely monitors the top social media platforms worldwide in many ways. As a result, Snapchat has created its own identity and is committed to putting users' interests above all else.

Snapchat logo and the lock

Privacy has been an issue for social networking sites since the beginning. So it is refreshing to see a giant go the extra mile to address users' concerns. We'll discuss one recent initiative and how you can hide your Snapchat friend list.

You may also like our other article How to know if someone screenshots your Instagram story.

Snapchat: How to hide friends

The privacy-heavy intro above may have confused you. However, it is in line with the friend list visibility that we are discussing.

Snapchatters used to have the ability to see each other's friend list even years ago. While that's fine on Facebook, Snapchatters considered it an invasion of privacy.

Snapchat logo in sunglasses

Snapchat quickly responded to the request and made all Snapchat users' friend lists private. To make it private, you don't need to flip a switch.

Snapchat handles all business for you automatically. You won't be able to show off your celebrity friends list on Snapchat.

We are sure that you will be interested to know How to see who shared your Instagram post.

Stop everyone from contacting your Snapchat account.

We've seen that you don't need to do anything to prevent others from looking at your Snapchat friends list. Snapchat does not automatically make your account private.

Snapchat, for example, allows anyone to send a Snap message and call you. While this may work for someone, it is not the best idea for everyone.

Snapchat logo with one eye

There is an easy way to limit your visibility.

  • Launch the Snapchat mobile app first. Press on the thumbnail of your profile picture in the top-left corner.
  • Tap on the settings icon in the upper-right corner.
  • Scroll down until the section 'Who can ..." appears. Next, click on "Contact Me."'
  • Finally, click on the "My Friends" option and exit the area.

That's all. Snapchat is not allowed to be contacted by anyone except your friends.

You might be interested in How to know if someone blocked you on TikTok.

Stop Snapchatters From Using Your Cameo Selfies

Snapchat Cameos is the most recent and engaging animation tool. Cameos allow you to create customized content, just like frames/templates. Cameos make it possible to create fun animations/short videos by removing the need for funny frames.

Snapchat logo and the lock

Snapchatters need to take a selfie with their face in the provided frame for Cameos to work. Then, they can share it with their Snapchat contacts. To create multi-user Cameos, your friends can also borrow your Cameo selfies.

Snapchat automatically makes Cameo selfies visible to everyone on Snapchat. This is not only for your friends but also for all Snapchat users. It is easy to change the visibility of your Cameo Selfies.

  • Launch the Snapchat app first and tap on the profile thumbnail at the top-left corner.
  • Go to the settings section on the other side of your screen.
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the Settings window and tap on "Use My Cameo Selfie." '
  • It's located under the banner 'Who Can ...'. You can set it to 'My Friends' or 'Only Me' before you exit.

Read also How to find someone on TikTok with phone number.

How to prevent others from viewing your Snapchat Story

Snapchat was the first company to use Stories. Although most social media sites have adopted it, the original Snapchat Story concept has not lost its appeal.

Snapchat allows anyone to view your Snapchat Stories, just like Cameos Selfies. As a result, Snapchat Stories are a great way to keep new users interested, even though it doesn't have a newsfeed like Twitter or Facebook.

The human eye looks through the Snapchat logo like through a keyhole

If you aren't feeling like contributing to Snapchat's well-being, you can quickly turn the device off.

  • First, open the Snapchat app on mobile. Tap on the thumbnail in the upper-left corner.
  • To go to Settings, tap the gear icon at the top-right of your profile page.
  • Scroll down and click 'View My Story. '
  • It should be set to "Friends" instead of "Everyone." '

Also you might be interested in How to screenshot on Snapchat without them knowing.

Stop friends asking you where you are on Snapchat.

Snapchat uses location services for the Snap Map. So your Snapchat friends can see your location and arrange meetups if they can access it.

The Snapchat logo features a man wearing sunglasses and a hat

Ghost Mode can be turned off to hide your location from friends. But, this doesn't mean you won't receive location request messages in the inbox. Here you can find instructions you can do to get rid of the constant requests.

  • Open Snapchat on your smartphone and tap the thumbnail of the profile picture in the top-left corner.
  • Next, focus on the top-right corner of the screen and tap the settings icon.
  • Scroll down until you see the "See My Location" option.
  • Turn off the "Allow Friends to Request my Location" toggle under 'Location request."
  • To go incognito, you can enable the "Ghost Mode" toggle.
  • That's all. Now your friends won't be able to see you on the Snap Map.

Surely it will be useful for you to know How to find out who someone is on Snapchat.

Snapchat notifications How to hide your name

This doesn't necessarily have to do with Snapchat's app but your phone's notifications system. You can choose to show all notifications or just a few.

While this would not be a great way to improve productivity, it will make your privacy much more secure. You can find the notification settings on all devices in Settings > Notifications.

We'll show how to change notification visibility.

  • Go to Settings, then tap on "Notifications." You'll see the option to select the notification pop-up style at the top of your screen. To limit visibility, choose 'Brief.'
  • Pay attention to the section 'Looking for smthng else?' section. Next, tap on "Notifications (Lock Screen). '
  • If you prefer, you can turn off all notifications for the Lock screen. We recommend that you leave it on and switch to icons only. '

That's all!



See also other articles:

How to know if someone blocked you on TikTokWhy should we study historyHow to get blue tick on TikTokWhy does YouTube has so many ads?How to tell if your Internet was shut off