Updated at 08 May 2022
Instagram Stories are only available for a limited time. Instagram is more complex than other social media platforms, making it simple for anybody to share the original content of someone else.
If you like publishing Instagram Stories, you probably want to share them with your audience.
See also a guide on Instagram won't let me post - what to do?.
There are multiple methods to share an Instagram Story with another person. There are rules to follow when sharing someone else's Instagram Story. Let's review them.
It's easy to share another person's Story on Instagram. The creator's tag will determine whether you can add a Story to your own. If the author of the story you want to re-publish tagged you, you can add it to your Story. If the author didn't do that, you can't add it, unfrotunately.
There are many other approaches, but this is the primary one: sharing a Story if an author tags you.
You still can share an Instagram Story with another user even if you aren't tagged. Of course, this doesn't make the Story public, but it is a great way to share it with a few of your friends.
The original poster must make their account public otherwise, you won't be able to send it to anyone.
If you don't see the iarplance icon, it means that the person has a private account or the author doesn't allow sharing.
Another cool feature of Instagram is sharing a link to Stories through some third-party application. You may copy a link to a Story to send a friend some cool Instagram Story. Here's how it works.
Instagram Stories must be set at "Public" to reshare them. Unless you manually change them to private, they will remain public. It defeats the purpose of social media.
A Public Profile is visible to anyone. It appears in search results and suggested lists. Only friends you have followed can view a private account. You can't view the Private profile of someone you don't know if they aren't following you. They cannot follow you if they don't.
Such a possibility allows you to make your account public or private.
Your profile is automatically set to public by default. If you want to change to or from privacy settings, you will only need to follow these steps.
Sharing someone else's post requires that you are tagged in it. A Story can only be republished if someone else tags it.
Create a Story. Create a "@mention" with the necessary person's username. You can tag many people, and every of them receives an email containing the notification. This notification cannot be prevented, but you can stop your Story from being reposted.
Reposting is an essential aspect of social medias, though you should do that carefully. Don't republish often.
Yes, you can share someone else's Story post as long as they are set to "Public." Next, press the paper airplane icon to select "Add Post to Your Story."
The clickable link to the post you have chosen to share will appear in your Story. The same steps can be followed to share your Reels.
You may turn off the option to allow other Instagram users to share your Story. Here's how:
You can also prevent others from sharing your Story in private messages by flipping the same switch.
See also best topics for blogging.
No. Instagram does not notify users when someone shares their Story.